About Us

Kenya Science campus is the former Kenya Science Teachers College (KSTC).  It was established in 1965 through partnership between the Government of the Republic of Kenya and the Swedish Government.  The Campus is situated in Nairobi, along Ngong’ Road, approximately 8 Km from the City center.  The KSTC initially trained S1 teachers to teach Sciences and Technical Education (Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Industrial Education) in secondary schools.  From 1980, it started training Diploma in Science Education teachers in the same science subjects.  In 2002, the College introduced Computer Science as a main teaching subject alongside the Sciences.  A basic ICT course was also introduced as a support subject for all students admitted in the college to enable them be computer literate upon graduation.

The KSTC was elevated to become a Campus of the University of Nairobi following recommendations by the Public Universities Inspection Board, which were accepted by the Government of Kenya for subsequent implementation.  It was officially handed over to the University on October 9th 2007 and  renamed Kenya Science Campus.

The Kenya Science Campus falls under the School of EducationCollege of Education and External Studies (CEES).  The recommendation to upgrade the former KSTC to a University Campus was informed by the observation that the Campus would expand teacher training in science education but at graduate level as the Diploma curriculum was phased out.  Consequently, the first intake of Bachelor of Education Science students was admitted in October 2007.  This cohort graduated in September 2011, while the last Diploma graduation was realized in November 2009.

The Bachelor of Education Science students are allowed to specialize in their preferred subject areas.  Combinations can be drawn from Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Mathematics, Physical Education and Sport, Agriculture and Geography.  The teaching staff for these subjects are therefore drawn from four of the six colleges of the University namely, College of Education and External StudiesCollege of Biological and Physical Sciences (CBPS)College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences (CAVS), and the College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS).

Kenya Science Grounds